United Kingdom

  • Capital and largest city: London
  • Official language and national language: English
  • Total area: 242,495 km2
  • Currency: Pound sterling (GBP)
  • Regional and minority languages: Scots, Ulster Scots, Welsh, Cornish, Scottish Gaelic, Irish, British Sign Language
  • Constituent countries: England, Scotland, Wales, Northern Ireland

The United Kingdom (UK) is a country located in Northwestern Europe. It consists of four constituent countries: England, Scotland, Wales, and Northern Ireland. The capital city of the UK is London, which is a global financial, cultural, and political hub.  The UK has a constitutional monarchy with a parliamentary democracy. The monarch, currently Queen Elizabeth II, is the head of state, while the Prime Minister is the head of government.

The UK is an island nation, bordered by the Atlantic Ocean, the North Sea, the English Channel, and the Irish Sea. It shares a land border with the Republic of Ireland. The landscape varies from rolling hills and lowlands to mountainous regions, such as the Scottish Highlands and the Welsh mountains. The UK is known for its diverse and multicultural society. It has been shaped by various waves of immigration, particularly from former colonies and other parts of the world. This diversity is reflected in the country's cuisine, arts, literature, and vibrant multicultural cities.

English is the primary language spoken in the UK. However, other languages such as Welsh, Scottish Gaelic, and Irish are also spoken in specific regions. The UK has one of the world's largest economies and is known for its financial services sector, including the City of London, which is a global financial center. Other important industries include manufacturing, technology, pharmaceuticals, creative industries, and tourism.

Show 1 to 20 of 43 result(s)