• Capital: Washington, D.C.
  • Largest city: New York City
  • National language: English
  • Currency: U.S dollar ($) (USD)
  • Total area: 3,796,742 sq mi (9,833,520 km2)

The United States of America (USA) is a country located in North America. The USA is bordered by Canada to the north and Mexico to the south. It has 50 states, a federal district (Washington, D.C.), and several overseas territories and possessions. The country has diverse geographic features, including mountains (such as the Rocky Mountains and the Appalachian Mountains), plains, deserts, and coastal areas.

The United States is a federal republic with a democratic system of government. It operates under a system of checks and balances, with power divided among three branches: the executive branch (headed by the President), the legislative branch (Congress, consisting of the Senate and the House of Representatives), and the judicial branch (Supreme Court and other federal courts).

The USA is the third most populous country in the world, with a diverse population of over 331 million people (as of my knowledge cutoff in September 2021). It is known as a melting pot of cultures due to its history of immigration, and it is home to people from various ethnic, racial, and religious backgrounds. The United States has numerous major cities, including New York City, Los Angeles, Chicago, Houston, Phoenix, Philadelphia, San Antonio, San Diego, Dallas, and San Francisco. These cities are centers of culture, commerce, and innovation.

Latest articles on the topic USA

Show 1 to 20 of 209 result(s)